Benton County Volunteer Program was originally formed as RSVP (Retired Seniors Volunteer Program) in 1974. In the 1980s, RSVP reorganized into an Iowa/Benton County “Coop”. In 2001, with the support of the Benton County SupervisorsBCVP was born, in service to the residents of Benton County.

Benton County Volunteer Program
Benton County Volunteer Program


  • 1 Collaborate with other organizations in an attempt to fulfill the BCVP Mission.
  • 2 Increase nutrition and health services resulting in the decrease of client health risks.
  • 3 Increase clients’ and volunteers’ program access resulting in decreased social isolation.
  • 4 Increase access to services that help improve/maintain client safety and mobility, allowing clients to remain in their private homes.

The Board and Employees of the Benton County Volunteer Program

Seven Member Board of Directors

  • Ron Dearborn, Chair - Atkins
  • Colleen Gibbins - Atkins
  • Sherri Swearengin, Sec. - Belle Plaine
  • Larry Wiebke - Van Horne
  • Dianna Wiese - Vinton
  • Jan Kendall - Luzerne
  • Connie Barnes - Vinton
  • Wayne Parizek, Treas. - Belle Plaine (non-voting member)


  • Melissa Croy- Executive Director
  • Wayne Parizek, - Financial Coordinator
  • Marilyn Sokol, Coordinator South